Heavens: Further Explorations for the Dreaming Flute - CD

By Paul Adams

Only One Left!

Heavens: Further Explorations for the Dreaming Flute - CD
Product Details
by Peorian Paul Adams 

A Calm Native American Flute CD with the sensibility of the meditative mystical Middle East.

"...it's fabulous. We'll be playing a lot of it!" -Kitty & Creek KZRY Iridium Radio, Alaska

"An absolutely beautify CD. Heavens is Masterful!" -Annie WMHB FM Main Public Radio

"Heavens is a must-have for all fans of wooden/Nature flute music and should easily make many Best of 2010 lists." -Bill Binkelman Zon Music Reporter, New Age Review

"My approach for this album, Like Flute Meditations For Dreaming Clouds, was to make music for healng and stillness. There is a slight air of mystery with my collection of Native American and exotic flutes as well as Psaltry Harp" -Paul Adams

1. Dreamtime
2. In A Zen Garden
3. Into The Deep Blue
4. Whippoorwill
5. The Ancientsk
6. Cloud Floating
7. Grace Befalls The Evening
8. Saddness Will Not Bind Me
9. Heavens
10. The Sky Of Hope


"Another excellent CD of flute music from Paul Adams. If you like to listen to relaxing music that lets you drift away into dreams, you might like this music. I have bought 'Native-America' a.k.a. 'Indian' flute music before and (in my opinion) there is a strong 'Native-America' influence in this music. This gives the music a somewhat 'mystical' feeling as you soak in the vibrations that lift you from your day-to-day living to an inner place of calm." -Captain Crunch, MN

"The voice of the flute is very natural. It conveys all the heart's joy and sorrow. And it has one more very special feature. It is able to create a distance between your every day desires and disappointments and lead your mind into a silent state.

"Paul Adams' music is full of tranquility and meditation. The artist skillfully uses various Flutes, Whistles, Chinese Hulusi and even ancient Psaltry in his music. His album has been named 'Heavens' not accidentally because Paul Adams' music harmonizes the mind and the soul. And yet it is divinely wonderful.

"The echoes of ancient times and the voice of modern world are intertwined in the music of Paul Adams. The artist weaves intricate laces by such a simple acoustic instrument as a flute is.

"In general, the music of 'Heavens' is filled by many nuances. I'd like to point out the very interesting background sounds which Paul Adams perfectly added to his compositions. And also the percussions on 'Heavens' are very delicate and they finely emphasize the beauty of Paul Adams flutes' singing.

"Heavens' is a sample of true spiritual music. This is a godlike gift which arouses the higher states of the mind." -SERGE KOZLOVSKY.com

"'Heavens: Further Explorations for the Dreaming Flute is composer/multi-instrumentalist Paul Adams' eighth album to date, although this is the first of his work that I have experienced. Adams' background is in ethnomusicology, and while most of the music on this album has a strong Native American influence, other influences are also apparent and reflect Adams' eclectic interests both musically and spiritually. The music on 'Heavens' was created for healing and stillness, and much of it carries feelings of mystery and melancholy, but as Adams says in the liner notes, '...sometimes sadness can be beautiful.' A wide variety of flutes from around the world are the primary instrumentation on 'Heavens,' but there is also percussion, keyboard washes, a child's giggle, sounds of nature, and a dog's bark adding color and dimension to the mix. The liner notes also include a short story Adams wrote called 'The Soul Carrier,' that ties in with the music.

"The first track on 'Heavens' is 'Dreamtime,' which begins with ethereal keyboard sounds before introducing the slow, soothing Native American flute. The piece is a little more than seven minutes long, allowing its hypnotic effects to draw the listener in and surround him or her with a magical kind of peace. 'In a Zen Garden' is almost all solo flute with an occasional bell, light percussion, or gentle keyboard wash, creating a mood of stillness with its haunting beauty. 'Into the Deep Blue' is a bit more complex with additional instruments and sounds as well as a hypnotic mystical Eastern influence. 'Whippoorwill' picks up a higher-pitched flute and lightens the mood considerably with grace and charm. Various percussion instruments suggest sounds of nature and Paul's dog even checks in on this piece - sure to bring a smile! 'The Ancients' is another favorite. Voices, chimes, and ethnic percussion provide a dark and mysterious backdrop for the mournful flute. 'Cloud Floating' is as gentle and serene as its name implies. 'Sadness Will Not Bind Me' is deeply emotional. There is a very dark continuous keyboard tone in the background while a single flute expresses grief and heartache. Occasionally a second flute emerges with a more hopeful sound, but sadness is definitely the theme here. 'Heavens' changes the mood completely with lightness and joy that shimmer. 'The Sky of Hope' gently lifts the spirit with its delicate ambience and the feeling of floating. Heavenly!

"Heavens is a musical massage for the mind, embracing many aspects and facets of life and spirituality. It is also simply very beautiful music to listen to either actively or in the background of quiet activities. Recommended!" -Kathy Parson, MainlyPiano